Waiting On… Immunity

top 10 tuesday (2)

This weeks book is:

Immunity (Contagion, #2)

Expected Publication: July 2, 2019

Publishing Company: HarperTeen

 

 

Synopsis: Survivors of a deadly planetary outbreak take on a new, sinister adversary in the white-knuckle sequel to Contagion, which New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman called “gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures.”

 

Why I’m Anticipating This: I read the first book, Contagion, last year and absolutely loved it. I thought that the mystery was great and the plot twist at the end made me want this to be out so much! I can’t wait to get my hands on this and find out what happens next. Also, it takes place in space, which is my favorite thing! This cover is also one of my all time favorite covers. It’s stunning!

 

Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

waiting-on-wednesday-7

 

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, #1)Date Published: September 1, 1983

Published By: Simon Pulse

Genre: fantasy, young adult

Pages: 274

Edition Read: paperback

Dates Read: 4/30/19-5/8/19

Rating: 3-and-a-half-star-rating

 

 

 

Untitled

 

Goodreads Synopsis: From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight.

And so young Alanna of Trebond begins the journey to knighthood. Though a girl, Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Thom heads for the convent to learn magic; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page.

But the road to knighthood is not an easy one. As Alanna masters the skills necessary for battle, she must also learn to control her heart and to discern her enemies from her allies.

Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins – one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and the magical destiny that will make her a legend in her land.

 

 

My Thoughts: My co-worker and friend told me to check this series out and I am so happy that I did. I really enjoyed this first book and seeing Alanna grow as a character. I love the trope of a girl disguising herself as a guy to do something that girls aren’t “allowed” to do. I feel like this book handled that trope very well considering that this came out in the early 80’s. I’m pretty sure that George is my favorite character in this besides Alanna. I can’t wait to continue on and see where things go in the sequel.

Reading Wrap Up: April 2019!

April 2019 Wrap Up.png

My reading this month was not great. I was insanely busy and my mom had surgery and was in the hospital so I was focused on her and not really making reading a priority. I am hoping to change that in May.


 

read wu banner

To Best the Boys Giant Days, Vol. 9 (Giant Days #9) A Curse So Dark and Lonely (A Curse So Dark and Lonely, #1)

 

challenges completed wu banner

7. two books related to the same topic, genre, or theme: book one

 

on the blog wu banner

Waiting On… Teeth in the Mist
To Best the Boys (review)
Reading Wrap Up: March 2019
The Wicked King (review)
Waiting On…Sorcery of Thorns
Waiting On…The Bone Charmer
A Curse so Dark and Lonely (review)
Waiting On…The Beholder
Giant Days Volume 9 (review)
Anticipated Releases May 2019

Giant Days Volume 9 by John Allison

waiting-on-wednesday-7

Giant Days, Vol. 9 (Giant Days #9)Date Published: February 19, 2019

Publishing Company: BOOM! Box

Pages: 110

Genre: young adult, contemporary, graphic novel

Edition Read: ebook

Date Read: 4/9/19

Rating: 5-star-rating

 

 

 

Synopsis: Contains issues 33-36

 

 

My Thoughts: I loved this just as much as all the other volumes of this series. These characters are seriously the best and it always so funny. I highly recommend reading this if you haven’t. I have reviews of the other volumes up on here as well if you’re interested in checking those out!

Waiting On…The Beholder

top 10 tuesday (2)

This weeks book is:

The Beholder

Expected Publication Date: June 4, 2019

Publishing Company: Harper Teen

 

Untitled

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis: Selah has waited her whole life for a happily ever after. As the only daughter of the leader of Potomac, she knows her duty is to find the perfect match, a partner who will help secure the future of her people. Now that day has finally come.

But after an excruciatingly public rejection from her closest childhood friend, Selah’s stepmother suggests an unthinkable solution: Selah must set sail across the Atlantic, where a series of potential suitors awaits—and if she doesn’t come home engaged, she shouldn’t come home at all.

From English castle gardens to the fjords of Norge, and under the eye of the dreaded Imperiya Yotne, Selah’s quest will be the journey of a lifetime. But her stepmother’s schemes aren’t the only secrets hiding belowdecks…and the stakes of her voyage may be higher than any happy ending.

 

Why I’m Anticipating This: A book set, what I’m guessing, is almost entirely on a ship is so up my alley. I like the idea of her travelling to find someone to marry. I have high hopes for this one!

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

waiting-on-wednesday-7

A Curse So Dark and Lonely (A Curse So Dark and Lonely, #1)Date Published: January 29, 2019

Published By: Bloomsbury YA

Pages: 496

Genre: young adult, retelling, fantasy

Edition Read: ebook & physical

Dates Read: 4/9/19-4/14/19

Rating: 4-star-rating

 

 

Untitled

 

Goodreads Synopsis: In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

 

 

My Thoughts: I absolutely loved this from start to finish. I immediately loved the characters. Usually, I have at least one character that I don’t like as much as the others, but this time I loved all of them. I really enjoyed the authors take and twist on the Beauty and the Beast story. I have such a love for retellings and this is one of my favorites for sure. I really loved how Harper never once let someone tell her she couldn’t do something and she pushed herself until she could do it. I really loved how Rhen’s character developed over the course of the story. Grey is honestly the best ever!  I really can’t wait for the next book to come out because that ending was insane and I NEED more.