Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

waiting-on-wednesday-7

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)Date Published: May 23, 2017

Published By:  Margaret K. McElderry Books

Pages: 699

Edition Read: hardcover

Dates Read: 5/31/17-7/29/17

Rating: 5-star-rating

 

 

Untitled

 

Synopsis: This is the second book in the Dark Artifices trilogy. You can learn about the first book Lady Midnight by clicking here to go to my review, or click here to go to the Goodreads page for it.

 

My Thoughts: This was one of my top two anticipated books of this year and it didn’t disappoint. It did take me a long time to get through this book and that’s simply for the fact that I am still recovering from my surgery back in May and reading such a heavy huge book wasn’t what I was focusing on. However I sat down last night and powered through the last half of the book. I love these characters so damn much and the fact that family is such an intricate part of the story and almost always the main focus is one of my favorite things. There was a lot of foreshadowing in the story as well that I was picking up on in the second half of the story. I think that a romance is blooming between two of the characters and I can’t wait to see where things go with that relationship. I was expecting there to be a bigger battle than there ended up being, but that’s okay because the fight scenes were still fantastic. Cassandra’s writing is always beautiful and I always get sucked right into the story no matter what what it is. We got to see some of Alec and Magnus in this which was great. There were some things that happened in the last ten pages of the book that I still haven’t accepted yet. I’m extremely mad that we have to wait two year to get the next book because that ended destroyed me and I need to know what happens next. I loved that there is a good amount of diversity in the story as well. We have a few gay characters, different ethnicity’s, and a transgender character as well. I fell like the book was well written and I would highly recommend this trilogy to anyone who has read the Mortal Instruments because you have to have read those first or you will be insanely confused. This is making my favorites of the year list for sure!

3 thoughts on “Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: July 2017 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

