Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

waiting-on-wednesday-7

Highly Illogical BehaviorDate Published: May 10, 2016

Published By: Dial Books

Pages: 250

Edition Read: ebook

Dates Read: 7/20/17-7/22/17

Rating: 4-star-rating

 

Untitled

 

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

 

My Thoughts: This book was great. It was my first John Corey Whaley book and I ended up loving his writing! I thought that Solomon was an amazing character and I loved all the personal growth and changes he goes through in the story. Lisa on the other hand I really couldn’t stand. I didn’t like that she was just using Sol and even after she became his friend all she cared about was her scholarship. I thought the friendship between Sol and Clark was fantastic and that was probably one of my favorite things about the book. I felt the portrayal of mental illness was done really well in this. You could see the little ticks and Sol’s struggle was completely laid out there and we got a good look into his mind which was nice. I will definitely be picking up more books by this author in the future.

2 thoughts on “Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

  1. Pingback: July 2017 Wrap Up!
    • Satou Johns says:

      I have heard that John is quite good adding LGBTQ members in his books, more like a support character than the main character. However, those play usually a good and really important role on the stories. I have sometimes loved more the secondary characters than the main ones… his characters are great!
       
      I have had issues with John’s endings… They are not like Steven King’s endings which are not… precisely… good… but confusing is like all happens too fast and then you don’t quite follow what happened… At least that is what happens to me… XD haha

      I have wanted to read this book so much! He is one of my favorite authors! I like the new cover better haha but I think this cover is not that bad ❤

      Thank you fro sharing! I hope you could take a look at my blog ❤ and I hope you like it! :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

