The Gilded Cage by Lucinda Gray

waiting-on-wednesday-7

The Gilded CageDate Published: August 2, 2016

Published By:  Henry Holt & Co

Pages: 245

Edition Read: ebook

Dates Read: 6/21/17-6/27/17

Rating: 3-star-rating

 

Untitled

Goodreads SynopsisAfter growing up on a farm in Virginia, Walthingham Hall in England seems like another world to sixteen-year-old Katherine Randolph. Her new life, filled with the splendor of upper-class England in the 1820s, is shattered when her brother mysteriously drowns. Katherine is expected to observe the mourning customs and get on with her life, but she can’t accept that her brother’s death was an accident.

A bitter poacher prowls the estate, and strange visitors threaten the occupants of the house. There’s a rumor, too, that a wild animal stalks the woods of Walthingham. Can Katherine retain her sanity long enough to find out the truth? Or will her brother’s killer claim her life, too?

 

My Thoughts: I was really excited for this book when it first came out but for whatever reason I never got around to picking it up until now. Sadly, it wasn’t as good as I was hoping it would be. The main character Katherine was probably my favorite part of the story. I liked that she didn’t just take the simple explanation for things and that she stood her ground and didn’t just lay down in the face of such a drastic life change. We didn’t really get to know any of the secondary characters. They were just kind of there and while that did add to the feel of Katherine feeling so isolated in England, it would have been nice to get to see if a tiny bit more of the other characters in the book. As for the story itself, there were a few things that happened that took me by surprise, but other than that it was kind of average. We got a satisfying ending, however, I would have liked an epilogue to see where things were a month or so after the events of the book. I will say that it was a fairly quick read. I was only reading this before I went to sleep and every time I picked it up I flew through the pages and it went by quickly. Overall, it was just kind of okay and not as good as I was hoping it would be.

One thought on “The Gilded Cage by Lucinda Gray

Leave a Reply

