Rise of Fire by Sophie Jordan

waiting-on-wednesday-7

Rise of Fire (Reign of Shadows #2)Published By: Harper Teen

Date Published: February 7, 2017

Pages: 304

Edition Read: hardcover

Dates Read: 3/1/17-3/19/17

Rating4-star-rating

 

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis: The richly suspenseful sequel to Sophie Jordan’s romantic fantasy Reign of Shadows. If  you would like to know what the first book in the duology is about click here.

 

My Thoughts: Well, this was one of my most anticipated books of the first half of this year. I ended up giving it the same exact rating that I gave the first book in the duology, even though I ended up liking this book less than the first. I still really like our two main characters however thing about Luna did annoy me this time around that didn’t bother me in the first book. I don’t think this is a spoiler but just in case, you’ve been warned! Luna, our main girl is blind. I feel like that was not represented very well in this book compared to book one. In this one Luna was doing things with such ease that a blind person would have an extremely hard time doing. It was almost as if Luna being blind was a form of super power that made all her other instincts a million times better than they would have been in real life. I just feel like the way that aspect of the story was written could have been done a bit better this time around. I do still like Luna and Fowlers romance in this just as much as I did in book one. I think that the first half of the book had great pacing, but the second half of the book felt pretty rushed to me. Especially the last 50-100 pages or so. That didn’t take anything away from the story, but it was enough to make note of. I think that things ended pretty well and we got an epilogue which I love in books so I liked that. I am always a big fan of Sophie Jordans writing and her stories. Even with the few issues I had with this book I highly recommend this duology. It is a retelling of Rapunzel as well so that was another thing I loved about it. I’m a sucker for retelling stories.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rise of Fire by Sophie Jordan

    • kelslove says:

      I have liked every single book I have read from her. I think I rated them all 4 stars. I recommend checking her out! I agree!!! The cover for this book is so beautiful!

      Like

Leave a Reply

