The Reading Slump: How I Deal With Them

The Reading Slump.png

The reading slump…..the thing us readers despise most. Currently, I am in one and it couldn’t have come at a worst time seeing as how I checked my Goodreads challenge the other  day and realized that I have to get 25 more books to meet my goal from the year. That means that I have less than 2 months to read 25 books……not sure how that’s gonna happen. I have tried to read about 5 different books and it’s just not working.

 

The best advice I can give to those who are sharing my current fate is to not force yourself to read. If you want to watch Netflix, do it. If you wanna binge watch 10 seasons of a show, go for it. The more you force yourself to read the less you will like it and the worse your slump will get. Just take a small break from reading for a little bit and then come back. 9 times out 10 your slump will be over by the time you try to read again.

2 thoughts on “The Reading Slump: How I Deal With Them

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    Taking a short break is a good idea, so you can return to reading with fresh eyes and imagination. Another thing I do sometimes is completely switch up the kind of book I read. For example, if I’ve been on a streak of reading dark YA fantasy, I might opt for a lighthearted YA contemporary or an adult sci-fi or something. Sometimes that helps. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

