Books I Read Because of Recommendations

top 10 tuesday post title

I get most of my book recommendations off of BookTube, obviously! There have been quite a few times that I have taken someones recommendation and ended up loving the book and a couple of times where I ended up not loving the book as much as everyone else did. I love seeing the books that people read and love so much that they constantly recommend it to other people. So let’s jump right in and talk about these books!


 

Divergent by Veronica Roth– This is the first book I can remember picking up strictly because people were recommending it. I loved it and still love it. I wasn’t the biggest fan of how things ended in the trilogy, but I still love the story overall.

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas– This is a book that I just recently read and LOVED! I had been seeing it get recommended by basically everyone and kept putting off reading it because I didn’t wanna read it and it not live up to all the hype surrounding it. It was incredible though and I highly recommend it myself now!

 

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan– I started seeing this pop up online and everyone was loving it, but I wasn’t the biggest graphic novel fan so I didn’t think much of it. Once I picked it up and gave it a read though I enjoyed it. This definitely requires a bit of a warning though as this is quite a bit of language and naked/sex scenes in all of the volumes of this series. So just be mindful of that going in.

 

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen– I am only just now really getting into fantasy novels and this is one that was highly recommend by people and was also included on my Goodreads Recommendations page so I just had to read it earlier this year. I loved it. I should have read it sooner. I am hoping to get to the second one before the final installment comes out soon.

 

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh– This is a graphic novel that went around and was liked by a lot of people because it’s a diverse book seeing as the main character is gay. I didn’t like this graphic novel. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the story itself and I feel like the timing was very weird. I wrote a review on this if you want to know my full thoughts and why I didn’t like this.

 

Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson– So many people love this graphic novel series so I thought I would give it a go but I HATED this so much. I found all of the characters to be so annoying and everything that was happening was just told in a way that was so unbelievable. I was not a fan of this at all. I don’t recommend this!

 

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger– I didn’t only hear about this online but my friend actually recommended this to me. While I liked it, I didn’t like it as much as everyone else did. I also haven’t seen the movie because it looks nothing like the book at all from the previews that I have seen.

 

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson– Another one that everyone was talking about that I didn’t want to rad because I was nervous it wouldn’t live up to the hype. However, I loved this book and it is now one of my all time favorite trilogies. I can’t recommend this one enough!

 

Angelfall by Susan Ee– I heard people talking about this but wasn’t all that interested in it, however, I ended up picking it up last year and really enjoyed. I didn’t like it was much as everyone else I don’t think but it was definitely a good read.

 

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige– This is one that had mixed reviews, but everyone was talking about it at one point. So I picked it up and absolutely hated it. I didn’t even finish reading this one. This ended up being one of my DNF’s from a few years ago. Not a fan.


 

What are some books that you read because of people recommending it? Did you love them? Did you hate them? Let me know!!

One thought on “Books I Read Because of Recommendations

  1. anovelglimpse says:

    I’ve read The Duff and Divergent. Both of those are great recommendations! Glad you enjoyed them.
    a href=”http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/10/11/top-ten-tuesday-all-about-books-you-read-because-of-recommendation/”>My TTT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

