Top 5 Wednesday: Books With Hard Topics

This is a topic that I got really excited for when I saw it in the line up for this month. I tend to like reading books with harder topics, don’t ask me why because I have no clue, but I love them. I have read quite a few that just stick out in my mind as being some of the better ones I have read. If you want to join in on the Top 5 Wednesday bandwagon then check out the Goodreads page here!  So with that said let’s jump right in to the books!

As always these are listed in no particular order I loved them all!

 

Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott – I read this book last year and it made my top books list for last year as well. I almost couldn’t make it through this book due to the topic and the way the book was being told. This book follows a girl named Alice, only that isn’t her actual name. She was taken by  a man who has held her captive for five years. You see things through her point of view and while the book isn’t very long, I have never had a story impact me the way this one did. Just knowing that things like this happen every single day across  the world completely breaks my heart. This was hard book to read, but I will forever be thankful that I did read it.

Willow by Julia HobanTrigger warning: cutting. This book follows a girl named Willow. Her and her parents were involved in a wreck, she survived, they did not. As a way to deal with her grief she cuts herself. This was one of the books I read when I was first getting into reading and to this day it’s still one of my favorites.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay AsherTrigger warning: suicide. This book follows a boy who recieves the tapes of Hannah, a girl who committed suicide two weeks prior. On these tapes she explains the 13 reasons why she killed herself. I read this around the same time that I read Willow, and just like Willow this is one of my all time favorite books. The way this book is told is so unique.

Speak by Laurie Halse AndersonTrigger warning: rape. It took me a while to read this after first hearing about it. It follows a high school student named Melinda who is carrying around a secret about what happened to her at a party. I love Laurie Halse Andersons writing and this was such a good story and it was told very well.

This Is How It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp – This book follows four different people and takes place in the time span of 54 minutes. It follows a school shooting and was one of the best and most real books I read last year.

 

Leave a Reply

