Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

Reign of ShadowsDate Published: February 9, 2016

Published By: HarperTeen

Pages: 304

Dates Read: 3/16/16-3/19/16

Edition Read: Hardcover

Rating4 star rating graphic

Untitled

 

Goodreads SynopsisSeventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

 

My Thoughts: I have liked every book by Sophie Jordan that I have read and this one was no exception. This is a retelling of Rapunzel, but to me the aspects of that fairytale were very subtle and I loved how it was done. I really like our main characters, Luna and Fowler. The way their relationship grew and changed throughout the book was perfect. There was no instalove which was perfect. The dwellers that roam the land in this are some pretty scary creatures. I also like that this book is told from both Luna and Fowlers points of view. You get to see things from both sides and since Luna is blind I think it was interesting to get to read from the pov of someone who is blind because I hadn’t until this point. I was already looking forward to the second book and then things ended the way they did and then I really needed the sequel, but sadly no information on it has been released yet other than the fact that we are getting one! Overall, a really good book and once I had the time to sit down and read it I flew through this. Highly recommend!

3 thoughts on “Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

Leave a Reply

