My 5 Least Favorite Books of the Year

I figured that since I was sharing my favorite books of the year I wanted to also show  you the 5 books I liked the least this year as well. I feel like we don’t talk about the books we DISLIKE as much as we do the books we like. It is just as important to talk about why we didn’t like a book. So with that said: here are the 5 books I liked the least this year.

 

Lumberjanes Issues 1 & 2 by Noelle Stevenson

While these issues were only about 25 pages long each I just didn’t like them at all. Like I said in my review for these, I just found the characters to be extremely annoying and nothing that was going on was believable to me. A lot of people really enjoy this graphic novel series so I went into it with high hopes, but sadly it was not for me.

 

Infected by Sophie Littlefield

This book was on my most anticipated list for this year so I am saddened to add it to this list. I just didn’t like this as much as I wanted to. There wasn’t enough character development for me and the backstory doesn’t really start until about halfway into the story which isn’t a good thing considering the book is less than 300 pages long. It had a ton of potential but sadly it just fell short for me.

 

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

When I reviewed this book I wasn’t completely sure how I felt about it and unfortunately I still kind of feel that way. It didn’t leave a big impression in my mind. I remember liking the way the pov’s flowed in the story but overall it was just okay. It wasn’t anything memorable.

 

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

I had such a hard time with this book. The actual story wasn’t horrible but there was a part of the story that I had a hard time getting past. The only characters I ended up liking were the main two characters. I feel like if this had been more of a dystopian setting and not so much the “contemporary setting” it came off as I probably wouldn’t have had as hard of a time getting over the thing that bothered me. I just wasn’t the biggest fan and I am not too sure that I will be continuing on with this series.

 

Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Muroh

I wanted to like this graphic novel. I really did. However, I just wasn’t the biggest fan. You jump from the main girl being 17 to her being 30 with absolutely no warning at all and then almost immediately after that the book ends. I was like…..really? That’s it? I wasn’t a big fan of the story itself but I was a fan of the art style. I will give out a warning if your looking to try this one out yourself that there is language and nudity in this so just be warned before you dive into it.

 

 

Let me know in the comments which books you read this year that you just didn’t like!

Leave a Reply

