The Jewel by Amy Ewing

The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)Date Published: September 2, 2014

Dates Read: 10/18/15-10/26/15

Rating: 3.5 stars

Goodreads SynopsisThe Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence… and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.

My Thoughts: Before I read this book I knew that everyone who reads it falls into one of two categories: you really like it or you hate it. I happened to fall into the really liking it category. Was it a perfect book, no. I took it for what it was though and I really enjoyed it. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the romance between Violet and the love interest. It honestly was a tad bit unbelievable to me and was borderline instalove, which you all know by now that I can’t stand. I also really disliked the way this book ended…..scratch that I HATED the way this book ended. It can’t even be considered a cliffhanger due to the sheer fact that it just stops. It feels like the big climax of the story happens and then BAM end of book….. who does that?? I will be picking up book two because I did like where the story was going and want to see what happens after where things were left off in this one. I have seen this be compared to the selection and I disagree with that a alot. It wasn’t like the Selection series at all. Overall it was good and I am interested to know where things go in book two.

One thought on “The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Leave a Reply

