Shutter by Courtney Alameda

ShutterDate Published: February 3, 2015

Dates Read: 4/17/15-4/20/15

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: Micheline Helsing is a tetrachromat—a girl who sees the auras of the undead in a prismatic spectrum. As one of the last descendants of the Van Helsing lineage, she has trained since childhood to destroy monsters both corporeal and spiritual: the corporeal undead go down by the bullet, the spiritual undead by the lens. With an analog SLR camera as her best weapon, Micheline exorcises ghosts by capturing their spiritual energy on film. She’s aided by her crew: Oliver, a techno-whiz and the boy who developed her camera’s technology; Jude, who can predict death; and Ryder, the boy Micheline has known and loved forever.

When a routine ghost hunt goes awry, Micheline and the boys are infected with a curse known as a soulchain. As the ghostly chains spread through their bodies, Micheline learns that if she doesn’t exorcise her entity in seven days or less, she and her friends will die. Now pursued as a renegade agent by her monster-hunting father, Leonard Helsing, she must track and destroy an entity more powerful than anything she’s faced before . . . or die trying.

Lock, stock, and lens, she’s in for one hell of a week.

My Thoughts: When I found out about this book I was so excited to get my hands on it and read it. When I finally started to read it I wasn’t getting as into the story as I wanted to be. About halfway through though I was totally in the story. It was so good and the characters were absolutely fantastic. Being a photographer I was so interested in the fact that the main girl used a camera to trap ghosts. I am also a believer in ghosts so this book was completely up my alley. According to Goodreads this is book one but there isn’t a second book listed yet so I am hoping that a second book does happen because I would like to get more of the characters.

One thought on “Shutter by Courtney Alameda

Leave a Reply

