Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Monument 14 (Monument 14, #1)Read from: 2/9/14 to 2/10/14

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: Fourteen kids. One superstore. A million things that go wrong.

In Emmy Laybourne’s action-packed debut novel, six high school kids (some popular, some not), two eighth graders (one a tech genius), and six little kids trapped together in a chain superstore build a refuge for themselves inside. While outside, a series of escalating disasters, beginning with a monster hailstorm and ending with a chemical weapons spill, seems to be tearing the world—as they know it—apart.

My Thoughts:  When I first started reading this book I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it or not, to my surprise I couldn’t put it down! While the characters in the story are all young, aging 5-17, and yes they do sound their ages, I rather enjoyed them. The story is told from Dean’s perspective, hes one of the high school kids trapped in the store.  The story line was a little dramatic but it was thrilling to see what was going to get thrown at these kids next. The whole chemical compound thing was a very interesting take on a “post-apocalyptic” type world. Personally I love the story line and the characters and I liked it enough  to go straight into the second book, if that tells you anything. All I have to say is to give this story a try, its a very quick read.

5 thoughts on “Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

  1. DrAwkto says:

    AHH! I read this book as well. Absolutely loved it. My heart would leap whenever my phone would ring cause I was that absorbed in to it. I thought the author did a very good job at making the characters believable. There’s a second one to the series, are you going to read it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

