Interview with author Lauren Oliver!!

I have been wanting to start doing author interviews on here so I thought who better to ask first then the author of one of my favorite books, Lauren Oliver. So when I asked her if she would be interested in doing an interview, she agreed! Which is amazing, so I came up with the best questions I could think of and I want to share her answers with all of you! But first lets get into a little bit of background of Lauren Oliver. She attended the University of Chicago majoring in philosophy and literature, after college she attended the MFA program at NYU. She comes from a family of writers and is an avid reader. Her first published novel is Before I Fall, which is my favorite! You can find all of this information and her books on goodreads at: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2936493.Lauren_Oliver

Here is what Lauren had to say about the questions I asked her:

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’m not sure exactly! I used to want to be a ballet dancer, but I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember!

What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always had this drive to be creative, and express that creativity through writing. My first published book, Before I Fall, was inspired by my experiences in high school, and by themes that had been occupying my mind.

Have there been any books that really impacted your life?

Too many to count! I’ve always loved reading, and the books I’ve loved… or even hated!… have been hugely influential on both my writing and my life.

Do you ever experience writer’s block?

I think everyone does at one point or another. Every book has its own challenges. I’ve found taking a shower or going to the gym is the best remedy!

Is anything in your books based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

It’s a total combination of both! I’m influenced and inspired by my real life, but the final product is all tempered by imagination.

While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of the characters?

I definitely get into their heads! It’s a little schizophrenic sometimes!

Which character was your favorite to write about?

I really loved writing Po from my book Liesl & Po.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

Hmmm. I’ve received so much criticism, it’s hard to pick! I guess it hurt the most when after I published teen books and was going to transition to doing middle grade as well, I read a lot of stuff on line doubting my ability to do both. That seemed very silly to me! I plan on doing it all.

The best compliment I’ve received, honestly, has just been the knowledge that people all over the world, from vastly different countries and cultures, are reading and loving my books.

What new author has grasped your interest?

That’s a tough one–there are so many fabulous new authors, it’s difficult to keep up. She’s not a new author, but I just got into reading Kristin Cashore, and I really like her work.

Are you working on anything new at the moment? And if so can you tell us about it?

I’m working on a standalone YA novel called PANIC. It’s very exciting and scary and different from anything else I’ve written before. It’s about an isolated town that’s consumed by a deadly game of dares.

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

The best advice I ever got was to read as much as you can, and to write everyday.

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

A HUGE thank you!

 

Im not sure about you guys but the new book she is working on sounds amazing!! I know I cant wait to read it! I just want to say a huge thank you to Lauren for taking time to answer my questions!! I hope you all enjoyed the interview!

One thought on “Interview with author Lauren Oliver!!

Leave a Reply

